strijbos & van rijswijk (NL)

landscape opera Signal

With their installations and compositions, the Dutch clan artists Strijbos & Van Rijswijk transform everyday places, objects and spaces. In a sophisticated way they create subtle musical landscapes in which silence also finds its place. The artist duo has performed in many renowned concert halls, museums and festivals such as the Norfolk & Norwich Festival (UK), Oerol Festival (NL) and Electronic Music Week Shanghai (CN). In addition, Strijbos & Van Rijswijk regularly initiate projects for public spaces from Los Angeles to New York City and from Montreal to South Korea.

Based on their work S.I.G.N.A.L. and in preparation for a large-scale project together with La Strada Graz and the Festival of Regions in Upper Austria next year, Strijbos & Van Rijswijk are developing a sound art work especially for our city in this time of challenges.

„The human voice, like no other musical instrument, is capable of immediately entrancing people, making connections. The singing voice can manifest as a powerful surrogate for catalysis and reflection. Singing voices, and their adaptations with electronic and digital tools, determine our sound to a large extent.“

strijbos & van rijswijk
©strijbos & van rijswijk

strijbos & van rijswijk (NL)

landscape opera Signal

Die holländischen Klankünstler Strijbos & Van Rijswijk transformieren mit ihren Installationen und Kompositionen alltägliche Orte, Objekte und Räume. Auf raffinierte Weise erschaffen sie subtile musikalische Landschaften, in denen auch die Stille ihren Platz findet. Das Künstlerduo hat in vielen renommierten Konzertsälen, Museen und Festivals wie dem Norfolk & Norwich Festival (UK), dem Oerol Festival (NL) und der Electronic Music Week Shanghai (CN) gespielt. Darüber hinaus initiieren Strijbos & Van Rijswijk regelmäßig Projekte für den öffentlichen Raum von Los Angeles bis New York City und von Montreal bis Südkorea.

Basierend auf ihrer Arbeit S.I.G.N.A.L. und in Vorbereitung auf ein groß angelegtes Projekt gemeinsam mit La Strada Graz und dem Festival der Regionen in Oberösterreich im kommenden Jahr entwickeln Strijbos & Van Rijswijk ein Klangkunstwerk speziell für unsere Stadt in dieser Zeit der Herausforderungen.
Spezielle Lautsprecher mit großer Reichweite werden auf den Dächern ausgewählter Gebäude und im Stadtraum installiert und bilden gleichsam akkustische Marker auf der architektonischen Landkarte von Graz. Die elektronischen Soundskulpturen verschmelzen mit der menschlichen Stimme mehrerer Sopranistinnen.

„The human voice, like no other musical instrument, is capableof immediately entrancing people, making connections.The singing voice can manifest as a powerful surrogate for catalysis and reflection. Singing voices, and their adaptations with electronic and digital tools, determine our sound to a large extent.“

strijbos & van rijswijk
©strijbos & van rijswijk